- What the Data Actually Shows About CIT Pass Rates
- Why No Pass Rate Is Published
- Reading the Exam Design as a Difficulty Proxy
- Who Sits the Exam: The Eligibility Filter
- Where Your Points Come From: Domain Weights
- Format, Rules and Logistics That Affect Outcomes
- Attempts, Fees and the Cost of a Miss
- Scheduling Your Prep by Domain
- After You Pass: Renewal and Expiration
- Frequently Asked Questions
- No official Certified IPM Technician pass rate is publicly disclosed, so any specific percentage you see online is unverified.
- The exam has 150 questions in three hours, with a 75% passing threshold.
- Inspection and Monitoring and Identification each carry 25%, together making up half the exam.
- Your first two attempts are included in the US$70 member or US$95 nonmember fee.
What the Data Actually Shows About CIT Pass Rates
If you searched for the Certified IPM Technician pass rate hoping for a clean number, here is the honest answer: the pass rate is not publicly disclosed. The Entomological Society of America Certification Corporation, Inc. administers the credential and, based on the official materials available, does not publish first-time or overall pass statistics.
That matters because pass-rate figures circulate widely for professional credentials, and many of them are guesses, recycled from other exams, or lifted from a different certification that happens to share the "CIT" acronym. Several unrelated credentials use those three letters. This article is about the Certified IPM Technician credential only, and we will not borrow numbers from anything else.
So what can a candidate actually learn from "the data"? Quite a lot, as it turns out. The exam's structure, passing threshold, eligibility screen, and retake rules are all published, and together they paint a reasonably clear picture of how demanding the credential is. For a broader look at difficulty, see our guide on how hard the CIT exam is.
Why No Pass Rate Is Published
There are a few plausible reasons a certifying body might not release pass statistics, though we can only speculate about the specific reasons here, since none are stated in the retrieved official description:
- Small, specialized candidate pool. The credential targets working pest-management professionals with at least one year of verifiable experience, so annual volume is likely modest and percentages can swing widely year to year.
- Changing delivery model. Remote ProctorU testing is scheduled to begin in July 2026, which means historical results may not map cleanly onto the new format.
- Self-selection. Because candidates must clear eligibility checks before testing, the population is already filtered, which makes a raw pass rate hard to interpret.
For candidates, the practical takeaway is simple: stop hunting for a pass-rate number and focus on the things you can verify. Our companion piece on the CIT passing score breaks down the threshold in more detail.
Reading the Exam Design as a Difficulty Proxy
When a pass rate is unavailable, the published design of the exam is the best proxy for difficulty. Here is what is on the record:
| Design Feature | Published Detail | What It Suggests |
|---|---|---|
| Question count | 150 questions | Broad coverage; little room to skip a domain |
| Time limit | Three hours, one sitting | Roughly a minute and a half per question on average |
| Passing threshold | 75% | A fairly high bar; guessing on weak domains is costly |
| Reference materials | Closed book | Recall and applied judgment, not lookup |
| Calculator | Basic calculator only | Dilution and application-rate math is by hand |
| Item-type mix | Not published in the retrieved description | Plan for varied question styles |
A 75% threshold on a closed-book, 150-question exam is a meaningful hurdle. You can miss roughly one in four questions and still pass, but with five domains of differing weight, a single weak area can drag your total below the line. If the exact scored versus unscored question split is not published, you should not assume any particular number of "free" questions.
Who Sits the Exam: The Eligibility Filter
The CIT is not an open-enrollment test. Before you can sit for it, you must satisfy several requirements, and that filtering shapes who attempts the exam:
- One year of verifiable pest-management experience
- Jurisdictional eligibility for restricted-use pesticides
- Two professional references
- An ethics agreement
- Payment of the application and examination fee
No advanced degree is required, which keeps the credential accessible to field technicians who have built their expertise on the job. Note one exclusion: existing holders of ESA's higher-level associate credential are ineligible to apply for this one.
Because everyone in the testing pool already has hands-on experience, the exam is calibrated to practitioners rather than newcomers. If you are not yet sure you qualify, our full walkthrough of CIT requirements and eligibility covers each prerequisite.
Where Your Points Come From: Domain Weights
The current official webpage lists five domains. Understanding the weights is the single most useful thing you can do to improve your odds, because it tells you where each question is likely to come from.
| Domain | Weight |
|---|---|
| Domain 1: Inspection and Monitoring | 25% |
| Domain 2: Identification | 25% |
| Domain 3: Control (Management) | 20% |
| Domain 4: Evaluation | 20% |
| Domain 5: Documentation | 10% |
Inspection and Monitoring and Identification are jointly the largest, together accounting for 50% of the exam. Control (Management) and Evaluation add another 40%, and Documentation rounds things out at 10%. All weights total 100%.
Inspection and Monitoring (25%)
This is where integrated pest management begins: finding out what is actually happening on site before deciding anything.
- Inspection methods and what each reveals about pest activity
- Monitoring tools and how to interpret what they catch
- Recognizing conducive conditions such as moisture, harborage, and food sources
Identification (25%)
You cannot manage what you cannot name. Identification questions test whether you can distinguish pests, and often their signs, accurately.
- Distinguishing target pests from look-alikes
- Using biology and life-stage knowledge to inform decisions
- Recognizing evidence such as damage patterns and droppings
Control (Management) (20%)
Once you know what you have and how much, the question becomes how to respond within an IPM framework.
- Choosing among non-chemical, cultural, and chemical tactics
- Matching the tactic to the pest, site, and risk
- Applying products safely, including dilution and rate calculations
Evaluation (20%)
IPM is a cycle. Evaluation asks whether your actions worked and what to adjust.
- Measuring results against the original monitoring baseline
- Deciding when follow-up action is warranted
- Recognizing why a treatment may have failed
Documentation (10%)
The smallest domain, but a reliable source of points for candidates who prepare.
- Accurate record-keeping of findings and actions
- Communicating results to clients and stakeholders
For a deeper treatment of each area, read our complete guide to all five CIT content areas.
Key Takeaway
Half your exam rides on two domains, Inspection and Monitoring and Identification. Prioritize those first, then protect yourself against the 20% domains, since a collapse in any one of them can sink a 75% target.
One caution on currency: the detailed PDF linked from the official page carries a filename dated June 4, 2021 and includes the word "Draft." The 2025 course content and the July 2026 delivery update should not be read as a new blueprint date. In other words, the domain structure above is the current published outline, but check the official ESA pages before you commit to a study plan.
Format, Rules and Logistics That Affect Outcomes
Pass rates are shaped not only by knowledge but also by test-day conditions. Here is what to expect.
Delivery and Scheduling
Remote ProctorU testing begins in July 2026, and you schedule through your ESA account. Because the exam is remote, your environment, equipment, and connection become part of your preparation. Run any system checks the proctoring service offers well before test day. For scheduling specifics, see our guide to CIT exam dates, testing windows, and deadlines.
What You Can and Cannot Use
- The exam is closed book.
- A basic calculator is allowed.
- Smartphones and programmable calculators are not allowed.
- Scratch paper is controlled.
Practice your math with a basic calculator only. If you have grown used to a phone or a scientific model on the job, retrain yourself on the simple device now.
Pacing the Three Hours
With 150 questions in a single three-hour sitting, you average roughly 72 seconds per question. Recognition-style questions on pest identification can go quickly, while calculation or scenario questions deserve more time. Move past anything that stalls you and return if time allows.
Attempts, Fees and the Cost of a Miss
The fee structure influences how candidates approach the exam, so it belongs in any discussion of pass outcomes.
| Item | Member | Nonmember |
|---|---|---|
| Application and examination fee (includes first two attempts) | US$70 | US$95 |
| Each additional attempt | US$50 | US$75 |
| Annual renewal | US$42 | US$50 |
The optional preparation course is a separate purchase and is not included in these fees. Forty hours of self-study is recommended but not mandatory, and no particular training is required to sit.
Two attempts are bundled into the base fee, which softens the financial sting of a first miss. But there are timing rules to respect: you have one year after approval to pass, and you must wait at least 30 days before retesting. That 30-day gap is useful, so if you fall short, use it to target your weakest domain rather than rereading everything. For the full financial picture, see our CIT certification cost breakdown.
Scheduling Your Prep by Domain
Given the weighting, a sensible plan front-loads the two 25% domains and reserves later weeks for integration and timed practice. Here is one way to structure roughly six weeks, building toward the recommended forty hours of self-study:
Inspection and Monitoring plus Identification (50% of the exam)
- Review inspection methods, monitoring devices, and interpretation of findings
- Build identification fluency for the pests common in your work
- Take a diagnostic practice set to find your baseline
Control (Management) and Evaluation (40% combined)
- Work through tactic selection and safe application
- Drill dilution and rate math using only a basic calculator
- Practice judging whether a treatment succeeded against baseline data
Documentation and weak-spot repair
- Cover record-keeping and client communication conventions
- Revisit any domain where practice scores trail the others
Full-length timed simulation
- Complete a closed-book, three-hour run under test conditions
- Aim comfortably above the 75% line before booking
For a deeper plan, our CIT study guide expands on resources and sequencing, and the CIT cheat sheet is handy for last-week review.
After You Pass: Renewal and Expiration
Passing is not the end of the process, and the credential's timing quirks are easy to overlook. The expiration date depends on when you pass:
- January through September: the credential initially expires at the end of that same year.
- October through December: the credential initially expires at the end of the following year.
Renewal is annual and requires six CEUs, an ethics agreement, and the renewal fee of US$42 for members or US$50 for nonmembers. There is no retest for renewal. Passing in October rather than September can buy you an extra year before your first renewal, which is worth knowing if your schedule is flexible.
Many candidates pursue the credential to strengthen their standing with employers and clients in pest management. If you are weighing the payoff, read our analyses of whether the CIT is worth it and the CIT salary guide, and explore CIT jobs to see where the credential applies.
Frequently Asked Questions
The pass rate is not publicly disclosed by the certifying body. Any specific percentage you encounter online should be treated as unverified. Focus instead on the published 75% passing threshold and the domain weights.
The exam has 150 questions, delivered in one three-hour sitting. The exact mix of item types and the split between scored and unscored questions are not published in the retrieved official description.
The passing threshold is 75%. Because the exam covers five weighted domains, weakness in a single area can pull your overall result below that line even if other areas are strong.
The application and examination fee (US$70 member, US$95 nonmember) includes your first two attempts. Additional attempts cost US$50 for members and US$75 for nonmembers. You must wait at least 30 days between attempts and pass within one year of approval.
Start with Inspection and Monitoring and Identification, which are each 25% and together make up half the exam. Then cover Control (Management) and Evaluation at 20% each, and finish with Documentation at 10%.